Carlo Ancelotti

Carlo Ancelotti is one of only three managers to win the European Cup/Champions League three times, one of five to win it with two different clubs, and one of seven to win it as player and manager.

Carlo, who made 26 appearances for Italy and played in two World Cups, started coaching with AC Reggiana in 1995. He won promotion to Serie A in his first season.

After spells with Parma and Juventus – who twice finished Serie A runners-up in his tenure – Ancelotti moved to Milan in 2001. He led the club to the semi-finals of the UEFA Cup in his first season before lifting the Champions League trophy with a 3-2 win on penalties over former Juventus at Old Trafford.

Milan suffered a remarkable final defeat in 2005 – beaten on penalties by Liverpool but won the Champions League again in 2007. Ancelotti finally left Milan two years later to succeed Guus Hiddink at Stamford Bridge.

In his first season in charge, he became the first Chelsea manger to win the domestic double. The club’s FA Cup triumph over Portsmouth followed a record season in the Barclays Premier League as Chelsea became the first side to surpass 100 goals. Despite the club finishing second and Ancelotti winning three manager of the month awards, Chelsea parted company with him at the end of the 2010/11 campaign.

He joined Paris St Germain where he enjoyed immediate success in his first full season in charge as he guided the club to the Ligue 1 Championship. It was their first national title since 1994.

Ancelotti then went on to make an instant impact at Real Madrid. After leading the Club to victory in the Copa del Rey he secured Real Madrid’s 10th European Cup.

In 2016 Ancelotti led Bayern Munich to a Bundesliga title earning him league titles in four different countries after triumphs in Italy, England and France. He moved on to Napoli then returned to the Premier League with Everton in December 2019.

Ancelotti hit his playing peak at Milan as part of one of Europe’s greatest teams, which featured the likes of Franco Baresi, Frank Rijkaard and Marco van Basten. Together they won back-to-back European Cups in 1989 and 1990.